Posted on Mar 11, 2016 in news

AMES, IA – During the 60th Annual Iowa Nursery & Landscape Association (INLA) Trade Show the association presented awards to three Iowa professionals. Each year INLA choses industry professionals to receive the Iowa Certified Nursery Professional of the Year, INLA Hall of Fame Inductee, and the INLA Award of Merit.

For her contribution to the INLA by instilling enthusiasm and interest in the young people of our industry, our 2016 ICNP of the Year is Shawna Moss of Kirkwood Community College. INLA would like to recognize her for the strong contribution to the industry, education, and to the INLA membership. Shawna is a professor of Horticulture in the Agricultural Science Horticulture/Floral Careers Department of Kirkwood Community College in Cedar Rapids, IA.  Shawna received her BA from Iowa State University. In 2015, Shawna helped the association plan the Day of Service event at Linn Hall on the Kirkwood Community College Campus. INLA annually holds a Day of Service to remember the events of 9/11/2001.

This year’s Hall of Fame Inductee honor goes to Chuck Porto of Iowa City Landscaping & Garden Center, Iowa City, Iowa. Chuck is a long-time member and supporter of the Iowa Nursery & Landscaping Association (INLA). Chuck is a past board member and past President of the INLA and has been with Iowa City Landscaping & Garden Center since 1990. He currently serves as their retail manager.  Chuck is active in sharing his enthusiasm for plants with everyone.

INLA is proud to honor Dr. Jeffery Iles, Iowa State University with the 2016 INLA Award of Merit. Dr. Jeffery Iles is the professor in the Horticulture Department at Iowa State University in Ames, IA.  Dr. Iles is involved with research and Extension programs that are important to agriculture in Iowa. Besides his teaching and advising responsibilities at ISU he is a co-adviser to the ISU Horticulture Club.  Dr. Iles relocated to central Iowa in 1987 to attend graduate school at ISU.